I just learned that NCDOT will be putting in bike lanes on the new 10th St overpass from Evans St. all the way to the...

Robotics tournament winners announced

1 of 2

The C.M. Eppes Middle School Robodogs team will advance to state competition. Above is Coach Allie Smith with students Nathan Jenkins, Akira McCassling, Saline Kulas, Hunter Nelson, Sara Monterrosa, Lucas Davis, Nathan Deis, Murray Hughes, Lina Kochi, Nathan Varney and Coach Sarah Lanier. Krystopher Parker is also a team member.


Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Twenty teams from across eastern North Carolina participated in the fifth annual FIRST LEGO League tournament, held earlier this month at J.H. Rose High School. This tournament is hosted by the Pitt County Robotics Teams 2642 Pitt Pirates and 2682 Boneyard Robotics. This year’s theme is Hydro Dynamics — ways to find, transport, use or dispose of water.

Local qualifiers for the state tournament included: The C.M. Eppes Middle School Robodogs, coached by Sarah Lanier; St. Peter Wiredcats, coached by John Bell; The CougarBots from Grimesland, coached by Kristin Justice; and the Ace Benefactors from Greenville, coached by Heath Carroll. They will advance to the FLL state competition in Greensboro.

The Wiredcats also received awards in presentation and programming, Ace Benefactors received a research award, and the CougarBots received a gracious professionalism award.

Rebecca Harrison, coach of the Elmhurst Bears and the South Greenville Bionic Cheetahs, won coach of the year, and Bionic Cheetahs received a judges award. FLLock of Eagles from Eastern Elementary, coached by Sharon Crockett, won the strategy and innovation award and the robot run award.

The FLL Jr. Team Award went to the Mini Mateys, coached by Allison Moran-Wasklewicz. Team members are Raleigh Maldonado of Elmhurst Elementary, Sophia Shoneman of Eastern Elementary and Rune Wasklewicz of Wahl-Coates Elementary. Moran-Wasklewicz, who also works with Pitt Pirates Team 2642, received the volunteer of the year award.

Other award winners included:

Innovative Solutions: Blaze Robotics, coached by Becky Rappleyea

Youth Volunteer of the Year: Yazmine Parker from Boneyard Robotics team 2682 and mentor for the Optimist Primates

Rising Star Award: Optimist Primates, coached by Marciea Pinder

Team Work Award: BOTS and Bows, coached by Krys Castro