Weather by

View Full Forecast

Login | Register

facebook Icon rss Icon twitter Icon

Charlotte, Hendersonville among NCPA award winners

The Associated Press

0 Comments | Leave a Comment

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. (AP) — The Charlotte Observer, The Times-News of Hendersonville and The Sanford Herald were among the winners in the news, editorial and photojournalism contest at the North Carolina Press Association meeting.

Winners were announced Thursday in Chapel Hill.

The Charlotte Observer won the General Excellence award for daily newspapers with circulation over 35,000. The Times-News won for dailies between 12,500 and 35,000, and The Herald won for dailies under 12,500.

The Chapel Hill News won for non-daily newspapers with circulation over 10,000. The State Port Pilot of Southport topped newspapers with circulation between 3,500 and 10,000, and the Tideland News of Swansboro won for circulation under 3,500.

James Nix of the Independent-Tribune of Concord/Kannapolis and Lauren Carroll of the Winston-Salem Journal won the 2012 Hugh Morton Photographer of the Year award.

Among the large dailies, the Asheville Citizen-Times finished second and The News & Observer of Raleigh was third. The Salisbury Post and the Sun Journal of New Bern finished behind The Times-News among mid-sized dailies. Of the smaller dailies, the Daily Advance of Elizabeth City and The News Herald of Morganton finished behind The Sanford Herald.

After the Chapel Hill News, The Cary News and the North Raleigh News were recognized for large community papers. Lumina News of Wilmington, and The Wake Weekly of Wake Forest were behind The State Port Pilot. Tideland News was followed for small community papers by the Duplin Times of Kenansville and Havelock News.

The News-Journal of Raeford won first place in Community Service for its coverage titled "A Hospital for Hoke County."

In Public Service for daily newspapers over 25,000 circulation, The Charlotte Observer's work on the profits of non-profit hospitals earned first place. The newspaper teamed up with its sister paper, The News & Observer, on this project.

For daily newspapers under25,000 circulation, first place went to the Hickory Daily Record for its work surrounding the murder of Zahra Baker, titled "StepMonster."

Caroline Curran and Stacey Manning of The Brunswick Beacon in Shallotte won the Henry Lee Weathers Freedom of Information Award for newspapers under 20,000 circulation. Sarah Lowery and Frank Taylor of the Lincoln Times-News of Lincolnton won in the over 20,000 circulation category.

The Duke University/ Green-Rossiter Award for Distinguished Newspaper Work in Higher Education was won by the team of Jane Stancill, Jay Price, Dane Kane and Andrew Carter of The News & Observer of Raleigh.

Media and the Law Awards, sponsored by the North Carolina Bar Association, went to Jon Jimison of The Wilson Times in the Daily Newspaper category. The Series category was won by Steve Harrison, April Bethea, Cleve R. Wootson Jr., Steve Lyttle, Ely Portillo and Gary L. Wright of The Charlotte Observer.


Bless your heart
Bless your heart