Latest e-Edition

Special Editions

Thursday, December 05, 2019

There’s a particular verse from the Bible that’s become sort of an earworm to me, sort of like a random song. I can’t get it out of my head and seated in its proper place — and that’s the problem.

Tuesday, December 03, 2019
Sunday, December 01, 2019

I recycle bath towels. I am not ashamed to admit it. When you take a shower, you are clean. You use a clean towel to remove clean moisture from your clean skin. Surely you can let it dry and use it once or twice more.

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

A shout out to Pitt County resident Joanne Lee who will assume the chairmanship for the EatSmartMove More NC movement. She invites the interested public to attend the release of North Carolina’s Plan to Prevent Overweight and Obesity: Balance How We Eat, Drink, and Move at 1 p.m. on Dec. 5 a…

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Root vegetables are fall and winter’s best-kept secret. Packed with nutrients, natural sugars and starch, the humble root is a healthy and flavorful substitute for the ubiquitous russet potato and a superb way to get your vitamins and nutrients in the cold-weather season. A good peel of skin…

Monday, November 25, 2019
Sunday, November 24, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Saturday, November 16, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019

I love the smell and sound of breakfast, the warm waves of freshly brewed coffee and baked biscuits wafting in the air. Mix that with the songs of steaming milk, grinding coffee and sizzling bacon. It’s the divine symphony of a breakfast restaurant. Breakfast is the meal that sets the tone f…