South Central's Holly Morrison, left, high-fives teammate Anna Mewborn during a game against C.B. Aycock on May 1, 2019. (Molly Urbina/The Daily Reflector)

Local high school softball players received District 1 All-District team and All-State Team honors, while Pitt County Schools released its Middle School All-County teams.

District 1 All-District

Pitt County athletes dominated the 2-A All-District team, nine of 14 players came from Pitt County schools. Farmville Central led the way with five players including Mattie Baxter (2B); Abby Foster (P); Kate Lancaster (SS); Kenya Pittman (CF) and Sydney Wade (C). Ayden-Grifton added another four players: Taylor Bowen (C); Kim Gurkins (P); Kylie Guthrie (1B) and Kristen Hardee (CF). Lancaster was named the 2-A District 1 Player of the Year.

D.H. Conley swept all eight spots on the 3-A list as Madison Bowers (Utility); Maggie Craig (C); Carson Fleming (OF); Trinity Nichols (2B); Alexis Phillips (SS); Anna Sawyer (OF) and Lauren Wiles (P) made the list. Sawyer was named Player of the Year while Wiles was named the Pitcher of the Year.

Like 3-A, 4-A was dominated by one school, South Central. Madison Deanes (SS); Sarah Ebling (DP); Amya Evans (RF); Kennedy Fipps (1B); Anna Mewborn (CF); Isabel Moore (1B); Holly Morrison (C) and Marissa Roach were all named All-District. Evans was named Player of the Year and Moore Pitcher of the Year.

All-State Teams

Familiar names also made the 2-A All-State team. Bowen, Gurkins and Hardee represent Ayden-Grifton on the list, while Baxter, Lancaster, Pittman and Wade made the list for Farmville Central. Lancaster picked up another award as the 2-A East Player of the Year.

Fleming, Nichols, Alexis and Lexi Phillips, Sawyer and Wiles made the 3-A All-State list for D.H. Conley. Wiles was named the 3-A East Pitcher of the Year.

Deanes, Fipps, Evans, Mewborn, Moors, Morrison and Roach were named to the 4-A All-Sate team for South Central. Evans was recognized as the 4-A East Player of the Year.


Softball: Jadyn Smith (AG Cox), Haven Roebuck (AG Cox), Abby Moore (Ayden), Madison Lancaster (Ayden), Cheyenne Forbes (Ayden), Alyssa Rouse (Ayden), Nekwanya Dixon (C.M. Eppes), Sky Edwards (Chicod), Merritt Doughtie (Chicod), Shelby Makepeace (Chicod), Taylor Askew (Chicod), Shea Jenkins (E.B. Aycock), Josiah Killinger (E.B. Aycock), Gabrielle Lopez (Farmville), Claire Neely (Farmville), Hannah Sugg (Farmville), Jayden Speight (Farmville), Madison Potter (Greene County), Kylah Silver (Hope), Aidan HcHugh (Hope), Saylor Whitley (Hope), Emma Orr (P.S. Jones), Ava Shae Mizell (P.S. Jones), Katherine Pollock (P.S. Jones), Erin Everett (P.S. Jones) and Kayden Howell (Wellcome).

Soccer: Ryan Davis (A.G. Cox), Lexi Robinson (A.G. Cox), Jacob Bivans (Ayden), Dawson McAlduff (Ayden), Bryan Angel (Ayden), Jada Smith (Ayden), Krystopher Parker (C.M. Eppes), Bella Fischer (Chicod), Jio Argomaniz (Chicod), Austin Harrell (Chicod), Lauryn Taylor (E.B. Aycock), Zaiere Evans (Farmville), Alejandro Rivera (G.R. Whitfield), Pablo Escamilla (G.R. Whitfield), Ariel Nunez (Greene), Enrique Lopez (Greene), Christopher Rivera (Greene), Miguel Lopez (Greene), Henry Conway (Hope), Corbin Jefferson (Hope), Austin Christopher (P.S. Jones), Taylor Mitchell (P.S. Jones), Angel Peralta (Wellcome), Malikk Williamson (Wellcome) and Abbigail Everette (Wellcome).

Baseball: David Horvath (A.G. Cox), Daylinh Brown (A.G. Cox), William Bunting (A.G. Cox), Jackson Bunch (A.G. Cox), Mason Hobbs (A.G. Cox), Alex Moye (Ayden), Austin Jones (Ayden), Cash Daniels-Moye (C.M. Eppes), Caleb Overby (C.M. Eppes), Trace Simmons (C.M. Eppes), S’Quan Waters (C.M. Eppes), Drake Holliday (Chicod), Landon Elks (Chicod), Own Boyd (E.B. Aycock), Alex Popovich (E.B. Aycock), J.T. Garris (Farmville), Landon Denton (Farmville), Avery Johnson (Farmville), Jaceire Daniels (G.R. Whitfield), Jackson Sutton (G.R. Whitfield), Braden Burress (Greene), Connor Edwards (Hope), James Elpers (Hope), Landon Smith (Hope), Hunter Baldree (P.S. Jones), Austin Cherry (P.S. Jones), Lonnie Nicholson (Wellcome), LJ Smith (Wellcome), Holden Burroughs (Wellcome), Demarcus McCray (Wellcome).