Weather Alert

High School BASKETBALL

They knew each other all too well before the game started, but now Farmville Central’s girls’ basketball team knows a little more about 2A rival North Pitt and even more about itself.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021
HIGH SCHOOLS

The D.H. Conley boys’ and girls’ basketball teams both went down to the wire in exciting, nail-biting contests Tuesday night, where it looked at times like their seasons would end. Thanks to some clutch play, each team pulled out a win in their 3A state playoff openers at home.

Tuesday, February 23, 2021
HIGH SCHOOLS

Three Pitt County teams will be at home for the the opening round of the state playoffs set to begin tonight, as per the release of the final brackets on Sunday by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association.

Sunday, February 21, 2021

The Washington Elite All Stars from Tumble B Gym, a local cheerleading and tumbling training facility, recently traveled to Atlanta for one of the largest and most prestigious cheerleading competitions in the country, the CHEERSPORT Nationals.

Friday, February 19, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Sunday, February 14, 2021
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
High Schools

A matchup between undefeated South Central and D.H. Conley normally would bring a sellout crowd to Hollywood Crossroads and an instant classic game. Instead, in a nearly empty gym, the game between the top two teams of the Eastern Carolina 3A/4A Conference failed to live up to expectations.

Special Editions

Sunday, February 14, 2021

Many people are changed forever when they have unexpected brushes with greatness. Local artist Richard Wilson has redefined the very meaning of that notion, transforming his own ideas and inspirations, and a few chance meetings, into enduring works of art.

Wednesday, February 10, 2021

A matchup between undefeated South Central and D.H. Conley normally would bring a sellout crowd to Hollywood Crossroads and an instant classic game. Instead, in a nearly empty gym, the game between the top two teams of the Eastern Carolina 3A/4A Conference failed to live up to expectations.

Tuesday, February 09, 2021
Friday, February 05, 2021
Wednesday, February 03, 2021

Powered by 50 points from N.C. State commit Terquavion Smith, Farmville Central defeated Raleigh’s Trinity Academy 86-78 at Farmville Central High School Wednesday night, improving to 7-0 and spoiling Trinity’s perfect season.

Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Monday, January 25, 2021

PINEHURST — The Country Club of North Carolina announced last week a new partnership with PGA Tour pro and East Carolina alum Harold Varner III as a CCNC Ambassador.

Saturday, January 23, 2021
Thursday, January 21, 2021

RALEIGH – It took 50 years and one ounce to break the current state record for a channel catfish, but John Stone, of Pinehurst, now holds the new record after catching a 23-pound, 5-ounce catfish from a private pond in Moore County last September.

Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Sunday, January 17, 2021

Greenville’s biggest high school rivals have done battle on virtually every sports stage imaginable.