Woody Peele.jpg.jpg.jpg.jpg

Woody Peele

The annual Scales-Aldridge-Garner Golf Tournament, which benefits the academics and athletic programs at J.H. Rose High School, has been scheduled for Oct. 25 at Greenville Country Club.

The format will be a four-person captain's choice. There will be two tee times, one at 8 a.m. And the other at 1 p.m.

There will be contests and prizes on each hole, with mulligans and tee busters. Each session will award prizes to the first and second place teams in the championship and first flight in the form of gift certificates. Players will also receive refreshments, lunch, and a raffle will be held.

Entry fee for the tournament will be $500 for a team and $125 for individuals who will be placed on a team,

For more information or to register, call Jo Ann Wilder at 252-756-3991 or go online to jowilder@gmail.com or scalesaldridgegarner@gmail.com.


Greenville Country Club held a four-man par-3 event for Men's Night last week. First place went to Brian Vinson, John Custardo, Curtis Lange and Josh Kennedy.

Second resulted in a tie between the team of Ryan Willhite, Rob McCormick, Daniel Miller and Sthil Sowers; and the team of Monty Pollard, Chris Holcomb, Joey Cuellar and Matt Kennedy.

This Wednesday's event will be a four-man Texas Scramble. Call the golf shop by 2 p.m. Wednesday to sign up, 252-756-0504.


Ironwood's Men's Night saw the team of Milan Minto, Luke Mosley, Connor Durham, Davis Miller and Kyle Griffin take first low gross.

The event was a 3-club. The winners had a score of 29.

Branin Thorn, Frank Harper, Tripp Harper, Dave Eberenz and Rick Thieler combined to shoot a 28 to take net honors.

Several Ironwood women were among winners at the Eastern League played at Belmont. Belle Prusinowski captured second low net in the second flight. Dianne Delaney took low gross honors in the third flight and Leslie Bailey gained second net in the fifth flight.


Roanoke Country Club will hold its Member-Guest Invitational next weekend, Saturday and Sunday. For more information, contact the golf shop at 252-792-2502.


Robersonville Country Club held its Member-Guest last week. A field of 45 teams participated.

The championship flight went to the team of Charles Gurganus and Logan Wynne. Second were Brad Pritcherd and Mike Caddy.

Winning the first flight were Durwood Respess and Taylor Futrell. Second were Shelton McNair and Jeff Smith. The second flight went to John and Steven Cooke. Second were Andy Eure and Roger Coltrain.

In the third flight, the team of Thomas Wilson and Daniel Oswald took first with Arne Hampton and Jerry Styons tied with Chad Woolard and Denny Allen. In the fourth flight, Dean Bullock and Neal James were the winners while Julie and Larry Styons tied for second with Bob Wall and Greg Moulder.

In the fifth flight, Troy Edwards and Alonza McRorie won with Brandon Brinkley and Michael Taylor in second place.


Scott Mullis captured the Ayden Country Club's championship shooting a 149 for the two-day event.

The white tee title was won by Matt Tripp with a 157. Gerald Falconio at 176 won the Mid-Senior division with Gil Moore taking the Senior division with a 141. Tom Heath shot 173 to win the Super Senoir flight.

Members Al Hart and Ross Warren both scored holes-in-one on the 17th hole last month.

Brook Valley

Brook Valley golfers have been busy lately.

In ladies play, several members participated in the McConnell Solheim Cup held at Providence Country Club in Charlotte. The BVCC team included Director of Golf Riley Kinlaw, Deb Antos, Cheri Getsinger, Meghan Heinchon, Janis Humphrey, Liz Johnston, Pam Katchmer and Donna Taft. As a team, they finished in 11th place among teams from the 14 McConnell courses from across the southeast.

At Men's Night, the members played the front nine in a scramble format. Teams could reduce their score a stroke by making one putt or less, by hitting the green in regulation or with their accuracy in the fairway.

First place went to Frank Lee, Will Brinson, Will Johnston and Martin Anderson, who carded an eight. Second were Joe Cook, Leo Corbin, Mark Pabst and Weeks Worsley with an 11. Third went to Jeff Gibson, Wade Stanley, Steve Wilson and Dale Pendry with a 12.
 BVCC also hosted an Eastern Carolina Junior League match last Monday. During the tournament Nash Pippen scored a hole-in-one on the fifth hole. He is from Washington Yacht and Country Club.

Nathan Heath took first in the boys 11-under flight. Holden Carson was second, followed by Rylan Fesperson and Gabe Niederhauser, respectively.

Will Guidry won the boys 12-13 flight, with Luke Mosley second, Lake Williams third and Jae Yoon fourth.

The boys 14-15 flight was won by Gray Mitchum, Cam Hardison and Drew Greene tied for second with Carson Hathaway in fourth.

Austin Wood won the boys 15-16 flight, followed by David Langley in second. Milan Minto and Andrew Gallagher tied for fourth.

Carys Carson captured to 11-under girls flight. Sophie Berry was second and Avery Williams, third.

In the 12-13 age group for the girls, Taylor Black took first, followed by Clair Holmes, Mary Paige Moore and Samatha Arneau, respectively.

Rounding out the winners from the14-18 class were Carolina Hunt and Lilly Davis, tied for first. Mia Jordan was third and Peyton Quinn, third.

In the boys' team division, Brook Valley took first with 22 points, with Greenville Country Club second with 14.5 points. Ayden was third with 11.\

Washington Y&CC won the girls' team division with 14 point. Ayden was second with 12 and Brook Valley was third with 4.5 points.

For the season, BYCC won the ENCJL. The league finals will be held next week.

You Can Play

Oct. 5 at Ironwood: Pitt County Girls Softball League golf tournament. Entry fee is $425 for four-person team; individuals may play and be assigned to a team for $110.

To enter, or get more information, contact Bo Batts, league president at 252-714-5485 or e-mail him at bobobatts@gmail.com

The field is limited to the first 25 teams to register.

To report golf news, tournament information, or other information contact Woody Peele at wpeele@reflector.com.